Goal #29 – Cook Thanksgiving

My 29th goal was to cook Thanksgiving dinner–like, the whole thing, turkey and all–before I turned 30. When I made this list in November, I only had two shots at accomplishing this. Luckily, I nailed it this year and accomplished my goal on Thursday, November 26th, 2015.

I wanted to make Thanksgiving Dinner from scratch before I turned 30 because … well, let’s be honest, I wanted to prove I could. Everyone talks about how hard it is to make the whole turkey and all the fixings and have them all come out (tasting good) at the same time… and I wanted to see what all the fuss was about. Plus, I am a super-planner, so I was 100% up for the challenge.

First, I made my list of groceries that I needed and went shopping. (Side note: grocery shopping on the day before Thanksgiving is a hellish nightmare that should be avoided at all times.)

The menu was set:

In order to make things run smoothly, I took each recipe and worked backwards from the time that I wanted to serve dinner with the amount of time each step would take. This created my schedule for the day.

I started cooking at about 11 a.m. (making the cranberries, then the pie, then prepping for the rest of the meal). The timeframe plan was so helpful and everything came out beautifully and right about at the right time!

It all turned out great and my guests seemed to truly enjoy the meal! In the end, the lesson I learned is that when it comes to Thanksgiving dinner, it isn’t that hard to accomplish everything if you have a good, solid plan in place. Which, let’s be honest, is kind of my life’s motto… so, I’m not sure why I was nervous in the first place. 😉

Screen Shot 2015-12-27 at 11.14.35 PM.png

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

